London Broncos Winless Start in Super League History – Comparison & Records

London Broncos’ Winless Start Compared to Worst Super League Openings

The newly-promoted London Broncos are already ten matches into their winless start to the 2023 Super League season. However, how does their record compare to the worst season openers in Super League history?

In 2020, the Toronto Wolfpack lost their first six Super League games before COVID-19 led to the club’s demise. While their results were later deemed null and void, that six-game winless streak falls short of making the list of the seven longest winless runs to begin a Super League campaign.

Similarly, four teams – Huddersfield Giants (1998), Hull Sharks (1999), Leigh Centurions (2005), and Warrington Wolves (2017) – all earned their first Super League win in their eighth match of the respective seasons. Although noteworthy, their seven-game winless streaks do not crack the top seven.

The Seven Longest Winless Starts to a Super League Season

  1. 8 – Workington Town (1996)
    The inaugural 1996 Super League season saw Workington Town finish bottom and relegated, with the Cumbrian outfit winning just two matches all year. They lost seven of their first eight games before earning their first victory in Round 9 against Oldham.

  2. 9 – Salford City Reds (1999) & London Broncos (2024)*
    Two teams share the record for the second-longest winless start, both at nine matches. Salford finished bottom in 1999, losing their first nine league games before securing a win in Round 10. This year’s London Broncos side, led by Mike Eccles, are mirroring that dismal start, currently 0-9 in Super League and the Challenge Cup.

  3. 10 – Castleford Tigers (1997) & London Broncos (2024)*
    Castleford managed to finish 10th in 1997 despite losing their first 10 Super League matches. The Tigers finally tasted victory in Round 11 against Salford. The 2024 London Broncos will join this exclusive club if they fail to earn any points this Friday against Headingley.

  4. 11 – Castleford Tigers (2004) & Celtic Crusaders (2009)
    Cas feature again in 2004, relegated that season after winning just six Super League games. Their first victory that year came at the 12th attempt against London. Five years later, the Celtic Crusaders also waited 12 matches for their maiden 2009 Super League win, beating Bradford.

  5. 14 – Wakefield Trinity (2023)
    Wakefield Trinity’s 2023 campaign was one to forget, as they lost their first 13 Super League matches before finally securing a victory against Leeds in June. Despite a late-season surge, Trinity were ultimately relegated.

  6. 16 – Huddersfield Giants (2001) & Leigh Centurions (2021)
    Three clubs have endured winless runs of 16 matches to start a Super League season, two of them stopping the rot in their 17th outing. Huddersfield in 2001 and Leigh in 2021 both earned their first wins in Round 17.

  7. 23 – London Broncos (2014)
    None can match the woeful 23-game winless streak to open the 2014 Super League season suffered by the London Broncos. Their sole victory that year came in Round 24 against Leeds, but it was not enough to prevent the club’s relegation.

“The newly-promoted London Broncos are already ten matches into their winless start to the 2023 Super League season.”

🔗 Source