Challenge Cup Final Preview: Wigan Warriors vs. Warrington Wolves Clash for Glory

Rugby League’s Storied Challenge Cup Final: Wigan Warriors vs. Warrington Wolves

On Saturday, the storied Challenge Cup final will unfold at Wembley, as Wigan Warriors and Warrington Wolves battle for the prestigious trophy. These two Super League heavyweights have met in the Challenge Cup final before, with Wigan emerging victorious 36-14 over Warrington in 1990, boasting the likes of legendary player Ellery Hanley in their ranks.

This year, the sides are separated by just two points in the Super League standings, showcasing their status as two of the competition’s elite teams. While Warrington may not have shown their best in the recent “dress rehearsal” won 19-18 by Wigan, the final is expected to feature the strongest possible lineups, despite the suspensions of Tyler Dupree and Adam Keighran.

“Serious About RL have analyzed the teams’ form and overall quality, and have selected a combined best starting 13 from the two squads.”

The fullback position is a tough call, but Matt Dufty of Warrington Wolves gets the nod, having cemented his reputation as the best fullback in Super League with his try-scoring exploits and impressive playmaking. On the wings, Warrington’s Josh Thewlis and Wigan’s Liam Marshall make the cut, with the latter’s try-scoring prowess and big-game pedigree proving decisive.

In the centres, Toby King of Warrington and Wigan’s Jake Wardle form a formidable partnership, while the halves see Warrington’s George Williams and Wigan’s Bevan French paired together – two of the competition’s true superstars. The front row consists of Wigan’s Luke Thompson and Liam Byrne, alongside Warrington’s Danny Walker, while the back row features Wigan’s Liam Farrell and Warrington’s Lachlan Fitzgibbon and Matty Nicholson.

This combined XIII showcases the remarkable depth of talent on display in this highly anticipated Challenge Cup final, as two of the biggest names in Super League go head-to-head for the chance to lift the famous trophy.

🔗 Source